Answers to Common Questions About DUI Charges

Answers to Common Questions About DUI Charges

At the Greenberg Law Offices we may provide you with a DUI lawyer Baltimore MD drivers turn to when they’ve been arrested for a DUI. If you are facing criminal charges for a DUI then you are facing serious consequences. With a skilled Baltimore DUI lawyer at your side, your charges may be reduced or even dropped. However, it’s critically important to choose a lawyer with the right experience.

Many of our past clients have shared similar questions and concerns. Contact the Greenberg Law Offices for a free consultation with one of our attorneys to discuss your case. Here are general answers to some of the most common questions we hear from clients.

What is the difference between a DWI and a DUI?

Unlike some states, Maryland differentiates between Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). A DUI lawyer Baltimore MD provides may question or petition the court to reduce your charges to a DWI.

  • A DUI is often charged when the driver has a blood alcohol level of .08% or more. Those found guilty could receive up to a year of time in jail. The results of any tests you underwent may be challenged by an experienced DUI lawyer Baltimore MD drivers rely on to protect their rights.
  • A DWI is often charged when the driver does not register a positive result after a breath test or  when the test result is less than .08%. A DWI conviction may have a maximum penalty of two months in jail.

What if I refused to take the breath test?

If you are later proven to have been intoxicated at the time of your arrest, you could be sentenced to another two months in jail and $500 in fines. A DUI lawyer Baltimore MD drivers turn to in similar situations may be able to reduce your jail time and fines. Call us at the Greenberg Law Offices to find out more.

After a DUI arrest am I guaranteed to lose my driver’s license?

In most cases, after a DUI arrest, the driver is given a temporary license. This allows them to drive for 45 days. During that time period you must schedule a hearing to retain your driver’s license. If you do not schedule this hearing, on the 46th day, you would lose your license. If you have been arrested and charged with DUI recently, contact a DUI lawyer in Baltimore MD from the Greenberg Law Offices immediately. One of our attorneys may help you schedule your hearing so you do not miss that window. If it is not possible to eliminate your charges, we may be able to reduce your charges and fines.

Penalties for First, Second and Third DWI and DUI Convictions in Maryland

The state of Maryland enforces various penalties for driving while impaired and driving under the influence. Greenberg Law Offices, a DUI lawyer in Baltimore MD, will inform you of possible mandates if you are convicted of a first, second or third DWI or DUI offense.

First Offense

  • DWI convictions could result in a maximum two months in jail. DUI offenders could receive up to one year in jail.
  • The maximum DWI fine is $500, while a maximum DUI fine is $1000.
  • A license is suspended for six months for a DWI. A license is revoked for six months for DUI, upon successful completion of a state-approved alcohol education program.
  • If your BAC was 0.15% or higher, an ignition interlock system is required when MVA reinstates a license. If you are eligible for a restricted license, you will receive an ignition interlock and will be required to purchase a Maryland SR22 insurance policy.

Second Offense

  • Second DWI convictions carry up to one year in jail. A second DUI could result in up to two years in jail.
  • Second offenders could be offered 30 days of community service in lieu of a jail sentence. A DUI lawyer in Baltimore MD from Greenberg Law Offices, can present this option to the judge.
  • The maximum fine for a second DWI is $500. For second DUI offenses, the maximum fine is increased to $2000.
  • DWI offender licenses may be suspended for up to six months. For second DUIs, licenses may be suspended for up to one year.
  • Prior to receiving a restricted license or reinstating a suspended license, DWI and DUI offenders are required to complete a state-approved AEP. Proof of financial responsibility is required through a Maryland SR22 insurance policy.
  • Ignition interlock systems are required for restricted licenses. They may remain in place for up to one year after the restricted period.

Third Offense

  • Possible jail time is increased to a maximum of one year for DWI and up to three years for DUI.
  • Maximum fines are increased to $500 for DWI and $3000 for DUI.
  • Community service of 60 days could be offered in lieu of jail time. Your DUI lawyer in Baltimore MD can argue for this sentence in court.
  • License suspensions for a third DWI could be up to 12 months. DUI license suspensions could last up to 18 months. Offenders must complete AEP and have Maryland SR22 insurance.
  • Ignition interlock systems are required during and up to one year beyond the restricted period.

Call the Greenberg Law Offices

Make an appointment for a free case review of your DUI charges with one of our lawyers. An experienced attorney from our firm may explain how he or she can help you protect your rights and keep your driving privileges. Do not settle for just any DUI lawyer Baltimore MD offers; call the Greenberg Law Offices today.

Greenberg Law Offices